WEAT Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers

The original Chapter of the Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers was founded in Arizona in October 1940. The idea was conceived by A.W. (Dusty) Miller and F. Carlyle Roberts, Jr. "to recognize the fact that many members do not receive the coveted Bedell Award, the Fuller Award (AWWA) or become an Association President, but nevertheless contribute some outstanding measure."

The Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers was originated to encourage members to "get involved". You cannot join the Society -- you must be "selected" on the basis of merit.  Within WEAT, induction into the prestigious society is based on "Outstanding, meritorious service above and beyond the call of duty" by recruiting at least five new members.  Shovels may also be awarded for exceptional service as established by the WEAT Board.

The following individuals have been inducted into the Texas Chapter of the Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers:

Scott Baggett
John Bennett
Rajendra Bhattarai
Karen Bick
Lee Bradley
Gary Burton
Ronald Carlson
James Clarno
Jenna Covington
Foster Crowell
Bob Derrington

Richard Eason
Mary Evans
Mark Evers
Sebastian "Buster" Fichera
S.A. Garza
Dennis Laskowski
Donna Long
Ray Longoria
Ron Mayo
Robert McMillon
Bud Holcomb

Stephen Jenkins
James Joyce
Steve Kennedy
Earnest Gloyna
Rebecca Guthrie
Rhonda Harris
Robert Hill
Stephen Hodge
Ramon Ortiz-Juan
Paul Roach

Clarence Scherer
Ron Sieger
Curtis Smalley
Cheryl Smith
Jeff Sober
Charles Sorber
Susan Smith Turrietta
Odis Tyler
Sam Warrington
Orren West
Cecil Williams
Jody Zabolio