WEAT and WEF Young Professionals seek to host and promote professional development events, to unlock opportunities for those new or newer to the industry to participate in WEAT events and become part of the WEAT team. There is emphasis on professional growth and community service through networking events, technical events, and community service events.

Dusek Kaylee

Kaylee Dusek

YP Committee Chair and WEAT/TAWWA Mentoring Program Co-Chair
Elle F

Elle Frier

Student Section Chair

Mentoring Program:

The 2021 Mentoring Program (a partnership between WEAT & TAWWA) kick-off has begun! The Mentoring Program is open to all college seniors, young professionals, and experienced professionals in the water industry throughout Texas. All applications received by April 26 will be included in the 2021 matching process.

Click Here to Sign-Up.

Mentees can be young professionals or mid-career professionals seeking a support system for success and an accelerant for professional development! Mentors can range between young professionals willing to mentor college seniors and experienced professionals with decades of experience to offer.

If you would like more information, please contact Kaylee Dusek at Kaylee.Dusek@Kimley-Horn.com or 214-256-4909.

Sign up here

Student Design Competition

The WEAT Student Design Competition gives students the opportunity to design and present improvements to a real-world wastewater treatment plant. Students compete to represent WEAT at the WEFTEC Student Design Competition being held in Chicago this September. The prompt this year focuses on the West Travis County Public Utility Agency’s Bohl’s Wastewater Treatment Plant in Bee Cave, TX.

The 2020 SDC featured students proposed design recommendations to expand the capacity of the Bohl’s WWTP, as well as propose process modifications to meet new flow requirements while continuing to meet TCEQ Type I Reuse permit requirements.

This year a record 10 universities competed: Texas Tech University, University of Houston, Texas A&M University, Lamar University, Southern Methodist University, University of Texas at Austin, Tarleton State University, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, LeTourneau University, and Louisiana State University.

For more information, contact committee co-chairs Paula Monaco (pmonaco@plummer.com) or Daniel Roberts (droberts@cpyi.com)

  • SDC2
  • Student Design Comp1
  • Dsc 0294
  • Dsc 0295
  • Dsc 0297
  • SDC Final2
Paula Monaco Headshot

Paula Monaco

Student Design Competition Co-Chair
Roberts Daniel Danny

Daniel Roberts

Student Design Competition Co-Chair


Will Chandler

Austin Section Representative

Suparna Mukhopadhyay

Dallas Section Representative

Marc Cashion

Dallas Section Representative

Kevin Flinn

Fort Worth Section Representative

Paula Monaco

Fort Worth Section Representative

Keval Satra

Houston Section Representative

Valetta Saldanha

Houston Section Representative

Lance Klement

Member at Large

Kris Kneese

Past Chair