Our 32 Committees

To join a committee email melissa@weat.org

Knowledge

Dedicated to the advancement of the various facets of the water environment profession.

Air Quality and Odor Control

Purpose

To educate and inform WEAT membership on technologies, trends, and best practices with regard to air quality, odor and corrosion control.

Committee Chair
Chris Hunniford (713) 714-5634 chunniford@vaengineering.com

Biosolids Management

Purpose

Promote effective and safe treatment and reuse or disposal of biosolids by providing
educational opportunities and peer network building.

Committee Chair
Sherri Van Der Wege (817) 493-5103 vanderweges@trinityra.org

Collection Systems

Purpose

To educate and inform the Wastewater Collection Systems Industry regarding trends in
collection system management, maintenance and regulatory issues.

Committee Chair
Leigh Cerda (512) 306-9266 leigh.cerda@burgessniple.com

Electrical, Instrumentation & Controls

Purpose

Provide a forum for the electrical and instrumentation professionals within WEAT to promote the education and growth of its members in the design, installation and maintenance of electrical and instrumentation systems.

Committee Chair
V.K. Gupta (972) 490-7661 vkgupta@gaiconsulting.com

Laboratory

Purpose

To further the environmental laboratory profession through education and communication.

Committee Chair
Elizabeth Turner (972) 442-5405 eturner@NTMWD.COM

Municipal Resource Recovery & Design

Purpose

Support the WEAT community by being stewards of the municipal wastewater treatment
engineering practices for clean and safe water.

Objectives:

  • Enrich and disseminate expertise of water professionals through seminars, workshops and public outreach.
  • Increase awareness of the water profession.
  • Enhance partnership between design professionals and operations & maintenance personnel.

Committee Chair
Ana Julia Peña-Tijerina
(817) 682-8816
Ana.Pena@FortWorthTexas.gov

Tina Hanson
(817) 471-7201
Tehanson@garverusa.com

Operations & Maintenance

Purpose

Enhance the ability of water environment professionals' to operate and maintain wastewater facilities efficiently through education, innovation and best practices.

Committee Chair
Jim Diaz (512) 972-1434 James.Dias@austintexas.gov

Pretreatment

Purpose

Members

1

Committee Chair
Jennifer Moore (817) 493-5117 moorej@trinityra.org

Safety and Security

Purpose

To promote the understanding and awareness of Safety and Security issues faced in the water and wastewater industry. 

Committee Chair
Rick Hidalgo
(469) 619-1241
hjhidalgo@sig-auto.com

Joe Baldwin
(940) 268-7001
joe.b@baldwinehsconsultants.com

Stormwater/Watershed Management

Purpose

To support the WEAT membership in the form of up to date knowledge regarding stormwater issues. Support includes reviewing and selection Texas Water abstracts; responding to policies and rules developed by federal, state, and local agencies; and providing technical information and lessons learned to the membership in the form of webinars, articles, and workshops.

Committee Chair
Aiza Jose
(214) 366-6507
aiza_jose@gspnet.com

Tina Petersen
(713) 423-7300
petersencm@cdmsmith.com

Utility Management

Purpose

Serve as a joint committee between WEAT and TACWA with an overall objective of using the resources of WEAT's technical committees and the management representation of TACWA to tackle high-level issues.

Committee Chair
Rick Shaffer (817) 598-4473 rshaffer@weatherfordtx.gov

Water Reuse

Purpose

The WEF (WEAT) Water Reuse Committee develops, recommends, and conducts programs to promote general understanding of water reuse for non-potable and potable uses.

Objectives:

  • The committee shall be dedicated to the advancement of water reuse in the water environment profession. 
  • Provide opportunities for committee members to become actively involved in the activities of WEAT. 
  • Provide WEAT membership education opportunities and awareness in water reuse by participating in the Texas Water program selection, hosting seminars and webinars, publishing technical papers, and other activities as identified by the committee.
  • Collaborate with other organizations who also are dedicated to the advancement of water reuse.

Committee Chair
Ken Hall (817) 313-1576 ken.hall@ch2m.com

Delivery

Responsible for and assists in providing services to WEAT’s membership and other industry professionals.

Awards

Purpose

The goal of the Awards Committee is to solicit award nominations from the state of Texas, select candidates for nomination, and present the candidates to the WEAT Board for approval. This committee oversees state and WEF awards nominations and recommends award criteria to the Board.

Committee Chair
Kim Chancelor
(713) 628-2122

Randy Bush
(214) 360-9929
rbush@cpyi.comm

Manufacturers and Reps

Purpose

Communicating/sharing information between WEAT staff and manufacturer/manufacturer’s representatives.

Committee Chair
Kent Guilbeau
(512) 306-0575
jetchegary@globalwet.com

Joe Etchegary
(469) 744-2373

Operations Challange

Purpose

The purpose of Operations Challenge is to provide a State competition at the annual Texas Water show that promotes the professionalism and the careers of Treatment Plant Staff including Operators, Mechanics, Chemists, and Collection System staff. The program mirrors the national competition at WEFTEC, and includes six events, including Texas’s own exhibition event. 

Committee Chair
Jeff Sober (214) 883-6263 jlsober@garverusa.com

Publications

Purpose

To work with Association Manger to gather tech talk articles and other standing articles for Texas WET, develop new content, and regularly survey readers for ways to improve Texas WET.

Committee Chair
Stephen Jeffus (214) 348-4753 sjeffus@rjn.com

Scholarship

Purpose

The mission of WEAT Scholarship Committee is to support, promote, and encourage the educational pursuits and goals of active members, or their college bound dependents, with scholarships and educational grants.

Committee Chair
Cathy Henderson Sieger
(972) 262-5186
siegerc@trinityra.org

Becky Diviney
(940) 220-4366
Rebecca.diviney@freese.com

Specialty Conferences

Purpose

This committee helps develop and organize WEAT sponsored specialty conferences and webinars. It also facilitates and coordinates the sponsorship of local conferences by WEAT’s sections. This committee takes pulse of the industry and recognizes deficits in industry education and underserved areas, and to bring these to the attention of the Board and WEAT staff.

Committee Chair
Rene Aguilar (512) 453-5383 RAguilar@carollo.com

Texas Water Exhibits Subcommittee

Purpose

Committee Chair
Don Lange (210) 404-1330 dlange@browngay.com

Texas Water Program Subcommittee

Purpose

Committee Chair
Ana Pena-Tijerina (817) 392-4982 Ana.Pena@FortWorthTexas.gov

Texas Water Resolutions Subcommittee

Purpose

Committee Chair
Paul Roach (817) 392-2347 proach@cpyi.com

Texas Water Steering

Purpose

Committee Chair
Jeff Sober (214) 883-6263 JLSober@GarverUSA.com

Stakeholder

Stakeholder Committees: Interface with a segment of the population targeted for communication about the importance of water environment initiatives and profession.

Government Affairs

Purpose

This committee develops and institutes programs that provide useful informational support to local and regional governments. It also keeps abreast of state issues in the water environment field and is prepared to provide expert testimony if the need arises. The committee stays abreast of current legislative activities and communicates important developments to the WEAT membership.

Committee Chair
Heather Cooke (512) 972-0083 heather.cooke@austintexas.gov

Public Communication and Outreach

Purpose

The Public Communication and Outreach Committee will develop and support comprehensive education and outreach directed at WEAT members, the general public, the K-12 education community, the media and public policy makers to educate on the value of water, encourage informed decision making on economic, environmental, public health, operating and social policy issues associated with the water environment and to be a technical resource for water in the State of Texas.

Committee Chair
Sharon Miller (214) 445-4692 smiller@perkinsconsultants.com

Student Sections

Purpose

Committee Chair
Allison Blake (214) 217-2219 Allison.Blake@freese.com

Young Professionals (YP)

Purpose

Committee Chair
Lance Rothe (210) 841-2910 lance.rothe@hdrinc.com

YP Texas Water University Forum

Purpose

Committee Chair
Bill Rixey (713) 743-4279 william.rixey@mail.uh.edu

Management

Management Committees: Assist in the governance of WEAT communicating directly with the WEAT Board of Directors.

Committee Leadership Council

Purpose

To oversee and mentor all WEAT Committee Chairs and Liaisons in their efforts to advance technical knowledge, represent Association Stakeholders, and manage the Association.

Committee Chair
Heather Cooke (512) 972-0083 Heather.Cooke@austintexas.gov

Management Review

Purpose

This committee conducts necessary business of the association between meetings of the Board, coordinating the work of the committees and making policy recommendations to the Board.

Committee Chair
Jeff Sober (972) 377-7480 jlsober@garverusa.com

Membership

Purpose

Committee Chair
Amber Batson (713) 423-7312 batsonam@cdmsmith.com

Nominating

Purpose

To reach out to WEAT’s membership calling for nominations of future WEAT Officers, and to thoughtfully consider and submit nominations to the Board for WEAT Officer positions; to usher in WEAT Officers.

Committee Chair
David Jackson (214) 217-2252 drj@freese.com

Strategic Planning

Purpose

To assess and develop WEAT’s strategic vision with emphasis on the continued success and sustainability of the Association and annual conference, Texas Water. The Vice President as Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee should set goals achievable within their term as President.

Committee Chair
Leigh Cerda (512) 306-9266 safichera@sbcglobal.net