Our 32 Committees

For more information on our committees, email admin@weat.org

Join Committee

Knowledge

Dedicated to the advancement of the various facets of the water environment profession.

Asset Management

Purpose

Promote and support the practice of asset management among all members of WEAT and WEF through the following endeavors:

Facilitate member education through case studies, seminars/webinars, speakers, papers, and other research.

Encourage members in the practice of Asset Management in their organizations, including stakeholder education, public outreach, change management programs, etc.

Study and disseminate information to the membership regarding best practices, technologies, and practical applications.

Collaborate with other organizations (such as other WEF Chapter Asset Management Committees) to identify and develop standardization to help promote the practice of Asset Management.

Members

21

Committee Chair
John D'Antoni
(713) 988-5732
DAntoniJm@bv.com

Mazen Kawasmi
(817) 735-7432
Mazen.kawasmi@freese.com
Committee Page

Biosolids Management

Purpose

Promote effective and safe treatment and reuse or disposal of biosolids by providing educational opportunities and peer network building.

Members

29

Committee Chair
Matt Berg Matt.Berg@jacobs.com
Committee Vice Chair
Marisa Martinez Palmer
marisa.palmer@saws.org
Committee Page

Collection Systems

Purpose

To educate and inform the Wastewater Collection Systems Industry regarding trends in collection system management, maintenance and regulatory issues.

Members

30

Committee Chair
Raghavender Nednur
raghavender.nednur@houstontx.gov
(832) 395-4935

Derek Schwanke
DTSchwanke@GarverUSA.com
(682) 225-1181
Committee Page

Construction Management Ad-Hoc

Purpose

Members

2

Committee Chair
Christian Annexy
cannexy@mccarthy.com
(832) 520-4560
Committee Page

Electrical, Instrumentation & Controls

Purpose

Provide a forum for the electrical and instrumentation professionals within WEAT to promote the education and growth of its members in the design, installation and maintenance of electrical and instrumentation systems.

Members

15

Committee Chair
George Luke
(972) 490-7661
gluke@gaiconsulting.com

Sean McMillan
(713) 777-5337
semcmillan@jonescarter.com
Committee Page

Industrial

Purpose

Members

4

Committee Chair
Jonathan Sandhu
(281) 226-1153
jsandhu@gcatx.org

Tres Koenings
(512) 452-5905
tkoenings@apaienv.com
Committee Page

Laboratory

Purpose

To further the environmental laboratory profession through education and communication.

Members

6

Committee Chair
Trinity O'Neal
(512) 972-1955
trinity.oneal@austintexas.gov
Committee Vice Chair
Elizabeth Turner
(469) 585-1038
eaturner01@hotmail.com
Committee Page

Municipal Resource Recovery & Design

Purpose

Support the WEAT community by being stewards of the municipal wastewater treatment engineering practices for clean and safe water.

Objectives:

  • Enrich and disseminate expertise of water professionals through seminars, workshops and public outreach.
  • Increase awareness of the water profession.
  • Enhance partnership between design professionals and operations & maintenance personnel.

Members

36

Committee Chair
Tina Hanson
(817) 471-7201
Tehanson@garverusa.com

Nick Landes
(817) 735-7571
nick.landes@freese.com
Committee Page

Nutrient

Purpose

Members

26

Committee Chair
Chris Pasch
(512) 452-5905
cpasch@plummer.com

Rex Hunt
(512) 452-5905
rhunt@plummer.com
Committee Page

Odor and Corrosion Management

Purpose

To educate and inform WEAT membership on technologies, trends, and best practices with regard to air quality, odor and corrosion control.

Members

11

Committee Chair
Doug Sherman
(512) 528-0827
shermand@cpiengineering.com

Fitz Moles
941-248-5405
fitz.moles@evoqua.com
Committee Page

Operations & Maintenance

Purpose

Enhance the ability of water environment professionals' to operate and maintain wastewater facilities efficiently through education, innovation and best practices.

Members

5

Committee Chair
Darell Long
(214) 670-0400
darell.long@dallascityhall.com

Darrell Poore
(469) 231-8309
darrell.poore@dallascityhall.com
Committee Page

Pretreatment

Purpose

Members

16

Committee Chair
Denise Ehrlich
(281) 226-1131
dehrlich@gcatx.org

Joseph Fielding
(214) 243-2354
joseph.fielding@dallascityhall.com
Committee Vice Chair
Heather Goins
(817) 330-0486
hgoins@perkinsconsultants.com
Committee Page

Safety and Security

Purpose

To promote the understanding and awareness of Safety and Security issues faced in the water and wastewater industry.

Members

13

Committee Chair
Denney Howard
(817) 338-7505
DRHoward@lan-inc.com

David Milligan
(469) 626-4590
dmilligan@ntmwd.com
Committee Page

Stormwater/Watershed Management

Purpose

To support the WEAT membership in the form of up to date knowledge regarding stormwater issues. Support includes reviewing and selection Texas Water abstracts; responding to policies and rules developed by federal, state, and local agencies; and providing technical information and lessons learned to the membership in the form of webinars, articles, and workshops.

Members

18

Committee Chair
Aiza Jose
(214) 366-6507
ajose@jonescarter.com

Gian Villarreal
(512) 652-5311
gvillarreal@seagullpme.com
Committee Page

Utility Management

Purpose

Serve as a joint committee between WEAT and TACWA with an overall objective of using the resources of WEAT's technical committees and the management representation of TACWA to tackle high-level issues.

Members

13

Committee Chair
Laura Wilson
(817) 392-2427
laura.wilson@fortworthtexas.gov

Dan Olson
713-395-4277
DNOlson@garverusa.com
Committee Page

Water Reuse

Purpose

The WEF (WEAT) Water Reuse Committee develops, recommends, and conducts programs to promote general understanding of water reuse for non-potable and potable uses.

Objectives:

  • The committee shall be dedicated to the advancement of water reuse in the water environment profession.
  • Provide opportunities for committee members to become actively involved in the activities of WEAT.
  • Provide WEAT membership education opportunities and awareness in water reuse by participating in the Texas Water program selection, hosting seminars and webinars, publishing technical papers, and other activities as identified by the committee.
  • Collaborate with other organizations who also are dedicated to the advancement of water reuse.

Members

19

Committee Chair
Michael Watts mjwatts@garverusa.com
Committee Page

Delivery

Responsible for and assists in providing services to WEAT’s membership and other industry professionals.

Advanced Operator Training

Purpose

Mission: To the be the number one organization for Wastewater Operators' Education in Texas.

Goal 1: Use this committee as an opportunity to expand WEAT membership in the State of Texas by adding new members especially in under-served areas such as collection system, pretreatment, and industrial sector.

Goal 2: Provide at least one single-day workshop every two months.

Members

12

Committee Chair
Rami Issa rami.issa@aecom.com
Committee Vice Chair
Chris Young
cyoung@plummer.com

John Bennett
bennettj@trinityra.org
Committee Page

Awards

Purpose

The goal of the Awards Committee is to solicit award nominations from the state of Texas, select candidates for nomination, and present the candidates to the WEAT Board for approval. This committee oversees state and WEF awards nominations and recommends award criteria to the Board.

Members

13

Committee Chair
Kim Chanslor
(713) 628-2122
chanslorkm@cdmsmith.com

Randy Bush
(214) 360-9929
rbush@cpyi.com
Committee Page

Operations Challenge

Purpose

The purpose of Operations Challenge is to provide a State competition at the annual Texas Water show that promotes the professionalism and the careers of Treatment Plant Staff including Operators, Mechanics, Chemists, and Collection System staff. The program mirrors the national competition at WEFTEC, and includes six events, including Texas’s own exhibition event.

Members

11

Committee Chair
Jeff Sober jlsober@garverusa.com
Committee Page

Philanthropy

Purpose

To facilitate the growth of monetary contributions and awareness for charitable causes that WEAT membership supports, typically related to expanding water and wastewater infrastructure in developing countries and including such organizations as Water For People, the Gazelle Foundation and other philanthropic causes. This Committee’s primary purpose is to provide WEAT membership with ways to engage in charitable causes related to water issues and increase their impact.

Members

22

Committee Chair
Adam Conner
(512) 617-3173
Adam.Conner@freese.com

Jason Cocklin
(361) 561-6508
jc@freese.com
Committee Page

Scholarship

Purpose

The mission of WEAT Scholarship Committee is to support, promote, and encourage the educational pursuits and goals of active members, or their college bound dependents, with scholarships and educational grants.

Members

6

Committee Chair
Cathy Sieger siegerc@trinityra.org
Committee Page

Texas Water Exhibits Subcommittee

Purpose

This sub-committee works with WEAT, TAWWA, and other paid staff to ensure adequate exhibitor space at Texas Water, and the ingress and egress of exhibitors.

Members

1

Committee Chair
Don Lange dlange@browngay.com
Committee Page

Texas Water Program Subcommittee

Purpose

This sub-committee is by appointment only and works to develop the Texas Water technical content alongside a TAWWA representative. This sub-committee chair will liaise with Knowledge Committee Chairs and help coordinate the Texas Water abstract submittal and review process. After the review process is complete, the sub-committee will work with the Texas Water Planning Committee in finalizing the program and facilitating authors for the poster session. The sub-committee will also coordinate program changes with responsible parties, in addition to sharing knowledge committee chair contacts with the moderator chair.

Members

3

Committee Chair
Lance Klement lpklement@garverusa.com
Committee Page

Texas Water Resolutions Subcommittee

Purpose

Members

1

Committee Chair
Paul Roach proach@cpyi.com
Committee Page

Texas Water Steering

Purpose

To represent WEAT’s interests in the oversight and planning of the myriad of programs and activities at Texas Water while helping to ensure the continued success of Texas Water.

Members

1

Committee Chair
Rick Hidalgo hjhidalgo@sig-auto.com
Committee Page

Workforce Development

Purpose

The mission of the WEAT Workforce Development Committee is to strengthen regional collaboration and the alignment of education, training, and workforce development to ensure a strong pipeline of skilled and diverse workers can thrive and succeed in the water and wastewater industry.

Members

12

Committee Chair
Katie Zheng
(281) 207-5935
kzheng@swwc.com

Justin Rackley
(214) 346-2892
JARackley@GarverUSA.com
Committee Vice Chair
Dylan Christenson
(805) 714-4362
ChristensonD@bv.com
Committee Page

Stakeholder

Stakeholder Committees: Interface with a segment of the population targeted for communication about the importance of water environment initiatives and profession.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Purpose

To promote a greater understanding and appreciation for diversity and inclusiveness throughout the WEAT members and in the water sector.

Members

9

Committee Chair
Aisha Niang
Aisha.Niang@houstontx.gov
(832) 395-5465

Ana Pena-Tijerina
apena-tijerina@plummer.com
(817) 618-2210
Committee Page

Government Affairs

Purpose

This committee develops and institutes programs that provide useful informational support to local and regional governments. It also keeps abreast of state issues in the water environment field and is prepared to provide expert testimony if the need arises. The committee stays abreast of current legislative activities and communicates important developments to the WEAT membership.

Members

21

Committee Chair
Heather Cooke
(512) 972-0083
heather.cooke@austintexas.gov

Nathan Vassar
(512) 322-5867
nvassar@lglawfirm.com
Committee Page

Public Communication and Outreach

Purpose

The Public Communication and Outreach Committee (PCOC) will develop and support comprehensive education and outreach directed at WEAT members, the general public, the K- 12 education community, the media and public policy makers to educate on the value of water, encourage informed decision making on economic, environmental, public health, operating and social policy issues associated with the water environment and to be a technical resource for water in the State of Texas.

Members

17

Committee Chair
Nyla Langford nblangford@sig-auto.com
Committee Page

Student Design Competition (SDC) - YP Subcommittee

Purpose

Members

9

Committee Chair
Paula Monaco
pmonaco@plummer.com
(214) 223-8777

Daniel Roberts
droberts@cpyi.com
(502) 645-6616
Committee Page

Student Sections

Purpose

Members

3

Committee Chair
Elle Frier
elle@friergroup.com

Caitlin Ruff
ruffc2@bv.com
Committee Page

Young Professionals (YP)

Purpose

WEAT and WEF Young Professionals seek to host and promote professional development events that unlock opportunities for those new or newer to the industry to participate in WEAT events and become part of the WEAT team. There is emphasis on professional growth and community service through networking events, technical events, and community service events.

Members

18

Committee Chair
Kaylee Dusek Kaylee.Dusek@Kimley-Horn.com
Committee Page

YP Texas Water University Forum

Purpose

Members

2

Committee Chair
Kayleigh Millerick kayleigh.millerick@ttu.edu
Committee Page

Management

Management Committees: Assist in the governance of WEAT communicating directly with the WEAT Board of Directors.

Bylaws

Purpose

Members

2

Committee Chair
Nathan Vassar nvassar@lglawfirm.com
Committee Page

Committee Leadership Council

Purpose

To oversee and mentor all WEAT Committee Chairs and Liaisons in their efforts to advance technical knowledge, represent Association Stakeholders, and manage the Association.

Leadership Mentor Program Guidance Document

Members

6

Committee Chair
Rick Hidalgo hjhidalgo@sig-auto.com
Committee Page

Management Review

Purpose

This committee conducts necessary business of the association between meetings of the Board, coordinating the work of the committees and making policy recommendations to the Board.

Members

13

Committee Chair
Jeff Caffey jcaffey@plummer.com
Committee Page

Membership

Purpose

To help develop, maintain, and track WEAT membership through both traditional and innovative ways.

Members

16

Committee Chair
Clarence Wittwer
clwittwer@yahoo.com

Connie Curtis
connie.curtis@kimley-horn.com
Committee Page

Nominating

Purpose

To reach out to WEAT’s membership calling for nominations of future WEAT Officers, and to thoughtfully consider and submit nominations to the Board for WEAT Officer positions; to usher in WEAT Officers.

Members

4

Committee Chair
Rick Hidalgo hjhidalgo@sig-auto.com
Committee Page

Strategic Planning

Purpose

To assess and develop WEAT’s strategic vision with emphasis on the continued success and sustainability of the Association and annual conference, Texas Water. The President-Elect, as Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee, should set goals achievable within their term as President.

Members

3

Committee Chair
Matthew Jalbert jalbertm@trinityra.org
Committee Page